I Want To Do Something Meaningful

I find myself with a few minutes that are unassigned. As my kids get older, I am finding more and more of these. And it’s wonderful! It is very exciting!! I am grateful for them. I recognize that the days ahead will be filled with more of these, and I am both delighted and concerned.

I don’t want to waste them. I don’t want to spend them all achieving the next level of a game or watching the next season of some show. I don’t want to spend them all in a frivolous way. Sure, some of that is nice, but I don’t want that to be all there is.

I want to do something meaningful. I want to do work, whether paid or not, that improves the lives of others, that is a blessing. I want to do the work God has for me.

I’m realizing that means that I need to spend these minutes, the ones I have right now, leaning in to God to hear His voice. I need to both sit still in the quiet, waiting and creating space for answers, and also pursue answers- digging into the Word, praying with fervor, spending time with people that can wisely direct me. It’s not enough to just want it. I need to put effort toward it.

Somehow it feels like letting these minutes tick by mindlessly equates to being a bad steward and wasting my potential. And I want to be a good steward; I don’t want to leave potential unused. I want to use what I’ve been given wisely- giving back to the Lord that which is His.

So as I find myself with more and more unassigned time, may I use it pursuing the Lord. May I use it creating or serving or loving. May I spend it studying and seeking and praying with others. May I spend it mindful of what He wants from and for me. Because when I’m on assignment for Him, I can feel certain that I’m doing something meaningful.

And I want to do something meaningful.

4 thoughts on “I Want To Do Something Meaningful

  1. What a thoughtful post Monica! Your words always inspire me. I have learned to treasure those unassigned moments and embrace all the surprises they bring to my life! Thank you for sharing;I’m grateful to know you.

    Like

Leave a comment